PLIDA certificate, preparation and exam

Dante Alighieri Miami is a recognized Certifying Center authorized by the PLIDA Head Office. The PLIDA certificate attests proficiency in Italian as a foreign language. The PLIDA (Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri) certificate is an official diploma issued by the Società Dante Alighieri under an agreement with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (no. 1903 of 4 November 1993) and with the scientific approval of the “La Sapienza” University of Rome (agreement of 29 June 2004). The PLIDA is also recognized by the Ministry of Labour and Social Policies (decree of 18 October 2002) and by the Ministry of University and Research as a qualification for the facilitated university enrollment of foreign students (ref. no. 1906 of 9 October 2006).

PLIDA certification evaluates skills in Italian as a foreign language according to a six-tier scale, from A1 to C2 in ascending order of difficulty, corresponding to the levels established by the European Council (Modern languages division: Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: learning, teaching, evaluation - cf. Quadro comune europeo di riferimento per le lingue: apprendimento, insegnamento, valutazione - published in Milan by La Nuova Italia – Oxford, 2002).The Certification test is designed on the principles of the communicative approach and it is based on real-life tasks which test the ability to apply knowledge of the language within the chosen level, in the four linguistic skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking.
The PLIDA system also includes 2 special certificates: Junior PLIDA and Business PLIDA.

Level of italian – Beginners
* PLIDA Certification A1 – Initial Contact
* PLIDA Certification A2 – Survival

Level of italian – Foundation
* PLIDA Certification B1 – Treshold
* PLIDA Certification B2 – Progress

Level of italian – Professional
* PLIDA Certification C1 – Efficacy
* PLIDA Certification C2 – Mastery

The A1 level attests the ability to use familiar everyday expressions aimed at the satisfaction of needs of a concrete type and to ask and answer questions about personal details. At this level of competence, interaction with Italian speakers can take place provided the other person is prepared to help.
The A2 level attests the ability to communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring a simple and direct exchange of information on areas of most immediate relevance, such as personal and family description, shopping, local geography and employment.
The B1 level indicates the ability to understand written and spoken texts on familiar matters. At this level, one is able to engage effectively in a conversation as a tourist, to express opinions and to give simple explanations.
The B2 level attests the competence in the language which is necessary in a traditional scholastic context (to register with school or universities), to pursue post-graduate learning (such as professional and training courses), as well as to prepare for work activities that involve interaction with the public. At this level, one can interact with Italian speakers fluently and spontaneously and use the language for work related activities in one’s own field.
The C1 level marks a strong confidence with the Italian language and culture, such that it can be used in all working environments (professional, commercial, industrial and administrative). One can understand and produce a wide range of demanding, longer texts and recognise implicit meanings in complex writings such as literary works.
The C2 level certifies a high linguistic competence comparable to that possessed by an Italian cultured speaker and applicable in any and all professional settings. It is the level required to teach Italian as a foreign language and to qualify for professional assignments of a high degree.

Eligible candidates
Certification is designed for people who's mother tongue is not Italian. All candidates can choose the level that they consider closest to their level of skill: it is not necessary to have taken examinations at lower levels in order to enroll in a given level. Examinations at several levels can be taken during the same session. Examinations are open to all: however it is advised to contact the school in advance for information regarding preparation for the examination.

Examination structure
The examination consists of four tests that verify the candidate’s competence in the four fundamental areas of linguistic skills: listening, reading, writing and speaking. The overall duration of the examination ranges from a minimum of 100 minutes to a maximum of 190 minutes for the highest exam. Read more information on the PLIDA preparation course.

Passing the examination
For each test, marks are expressed in terms of a maximum of thirty. To pass the examination, the candidate has to obtain a minimum of 18/30 in each of the four skills (listening, reading, writing and speaking). The minimum overall score for a pass in the examination is therefore 72/120, while the maximum possible score is 120/120. A candidate who passes at least three of the four skills obtains a credit in the skills passed - these three credits may be used in the next session to take the one test that had not previously been passed.

Examination results and certificate issue
PLIDA Certificate Examination documents are sent from the various Certification Centers to the Central Offices, where they are marked and evaluated within 60 days of receipt.

The Central Office sends Certificates for all the candidates who pass the examination
The certificate indicates details on the candidate’s exam: the level, the specific marks obtained in each language skill and the overall mark. Candidates’ personal data is used solely for certificate issue, and this data will not be published in any form in accordance with Italian privacy legislation (law 675/96).

Examination sessions
Exams are organized biannually and take place on predetermined dates which apply to all Centers.